Campeche has been a World Heritage Site since 1999 thanks to the precious historical heritage safe from the attacks of the pirates, the bastions, doorways, access gates and walls were erected from 1686 to 1704 to protect the inhabitants. , Today these old lookouts are waiting for you with their doors open to enjoy museums
This museum is located inside of Fort San Miguel and exhibits in ten halls some pieces of Mayan art found on the different archaeological sites in the State of Campeche. The pieces that stand out are the jade masks found in Calakmul.
The old rooms used in the past by soldiers and watchmen of Fort San Jose, host nowadays an interesting historic museum with reproductions of ships and weapons dating from the colonial times distributed in five halls; not to mention the impressive views of the sea of Campeche and the Natural Protected Area of Los Petenes
This interesting building dates back to the eighteenth century when it was built. It originally stretched to the corner of Calle Hidalgo and Calle del Comercio, and continued along Calle del Comercio (now Calle 57 X 10), until this century when the property was divided, and the houses we can now see on the corner
Edzná is one of the most beautiful ancient Mayan cities in the region. An important regional capital whose wealth of buildings and styles give a precise idea of the enormous political, economic and religious power that the site enjoyed between 600 and 1200 AD. Upon entering this city from the Nochoch Na, you will enjoy
The Land Gate is a military construction that was designed to defend access by land to the city from any angle. The wall is surrounded by a moat and has embrasures from which weapons were fired. It has adjoining rooms which were occupied by the chief of the watch and the troops on duty. Atop
It was the first access built to the walled city and also de first demolished by the end of the nineteenth century. During two centuries it was the entrance and exit to those using the only mean of transport for those days: sail boats. It lacked of a moat and ravellin, it had instead a
Covering an area of 3,858 square meters, the fort was built on “Buena Vista” hill in the lee of the city towards the end of the eighteenth century when England, having occupied Florida and what is now Belize, aroused fears that it sought to occupy peninsular lands. The attack never happened; nevertheless, it was put
Carved into the stone that sits above the entry way is the inscription “August 9, 1792”, which is the date construction was completed. The fort was built on Barlovento hill, complete with moat, drawbridge and well in its center, and is noted for its parapet and stepped ramp which leads us to the upper part.
The protection wall of this battery was reconstructed on its original foundations. It was part of the windward fortification and part of the new set of fortifications completed on 1792 to reinforce Campeche.